About Us

Enter Title

Who is the Department of Administration?

The Department of Administration (DOA) employs over 500 highly skilled employees with a wide variety of responsibilities.  We have eight divisions that report to the Director's Office, plus six state agencies that are attached to us for administrative purposes only (meaning they have their own agency head and do not report to the DOA Director).

The current Governor appoints the Department Director who serves at the pleasure of the Governor.

What does the Department of Administration do?

DOA provides a broad range of services and support to the state government enterprise.  Click on the the name of each for more information about their responsibilities.

Department Divisions

Attached Agencies

When does the Department of Administration provide its services?

Twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, DOA services are being used throughout Montana.

Where does the Department of Administration provide its services?

Our main offices in Helena are open Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  We also have employees in Dillon, Billings, Missoula, Kalispell, Miles City, and Circle. The Director's Office is located on the Capitol Complex in Room 155 of the Mitchell Building at 125 N. Roberts Street in Helena.  Click here to contact us or call (406) 444-2032.

Department of Administration Goals and Objectives

Americans with Disabilities Act Public Notice